Nanoindentation: Fundamentals and Frontiers

Tuesday, June 11, 2013
11:00am (ET) | 10:00am (CT) | 8:00am (PT) | 3:00pm (GMT)

Duration: 45-50 minutes plus Q&A

Nanoindentation is a technique that has been broadly applied to characterize the mechanical properties of materials with high spacial resolution. The basic concepts used to accurately apply the technique, as well as some of the newest measurement frontiers being explored today, will be presented in this webinar. The process of converting load versus displacement measurements to materials properties through an understanding of the geometry associated with the experiments is the basis for these experiments. The newest techniques that will be mentioned include in-situ experiments in electron microscopes, testing at elevated temperatures and high-speed testing for the mapping of properties. The challenges associated with these frontiers will be briefly discussed.

This webinar is provided, free of charge, courtesy of Agilent Technologies. To view the webinar, either register or login at right.

Speakers

George M. Pharr, PhD
Chancellor’s Professor and Director of the Joint Institute for Advanced Materials (JIAM)
The University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Warren C. Oliver, PhD
President
Nanomechanics, Inc.

Moderator

Gopal R. Rao, PhD, Editor, MRS Bulletin, Materials Research Society®
PLL Player
Agilent Technologies

The MRS OnDemand® Webinar Series does not endorse any products or services. The views expressed in these webinars are those of the presenters and do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of the Materials Research Society®.